Ms. Géraldine Gossard-Fusco

gossard@frenchschoolphila.org
School(s): Primary School
Department(s): French Faculty
Title(s): Enseignante en français en CE1

Géraldine Gossard-Fusco est née et a grandi à Lyon. Elle est arrivée à l’Ecole Française Internationale en 2007. Elle parle anglais couramment, possède un bon niveau d’espagnol et parle un peu italien.

Elle a reçu une maîtrise de l’Université Lumière-Lyon II avec une majeure en art du XXème siècle et deux mineurs en français langue étrangère et psychologie. Elle a reçu son diplôme d’enseignante en 2003.

Dès sa première expérience  d’enseignement du français à l’étranger, Mme Gossard-Fusco a compris qu’enseigner dans un milieu multiculturel  signifie apprendre des autres cultures et leur histoire. Elle dit qu’elle trouve qu’enseigner à l’Ecole Française de Philadelphie lui permet d’apprendre de ses collègues Américains ainsi que des enfants et leurs expériences. Ce que Mme Gossard-Fusco trouve de vraiment spécial à l’Ecole Française est sa communauté. Les liens forts entre les enseignants, les parents et l’administration rendent le travail au quotidien enrichissant. Elle dit aussi que de voir les progrès journaliers de ses élèves à lire et s’exprimer couramment en français est  gratifiant.

En plus de la France et les Etats-Unis, Mme Gossard-Fusco a vécu à Toronto (Ontario), Regina (Saskatchewan) au Canada, à Londres et à Nottingham au Royaume-Uni. Elle se passionne pour l’environnement et aime cuisiner, les activités de plein air avec son mari et leur fille, une élève de l’Ecole.

Ms. Géraldine Gossard-Fusco

gossard@frenchschoolphila.org
School(s): Primary School
Department(s): French Faculty
Title(s): Second Grade Teacher

Born and raised in Lyon, France, Geraldine Gossard-Fusco came to the French International School of Philadelphia to teach in 2007. A native French speaker, Ms. Gossard-Fusco is fluent in English, and speaks some Spanish and Italian.

She received her master’s degree in English from Université Lumière Lyon 2, France, with a major in 20th century art and minors in psychology and French as a foreign language. She received her teacher’s certification in 2003.

From her first trip abroad teaching French, Ms. Gossard-Fusco understood that teaching in a multicultural environment means learning from other cultures and history. She says she learns from both at the French International School in her exchanges with American teachers and learning from students’ experiences.  The French International School community is what Ms. Gossard-Fusco finds very special. The close bonds between the administration, parents and teachers make her daily teaching fulfilling. She also says that to see students’ progress from day-to-day and read in French autonomously is rewarding.

In addition to France and the United States, Ms. Gossard-Fusco has lived in Toronto, Ontario and Regina, Saskatchewan in Canada and London and Nottingham, England. She is passionate about the environment and enjoys cooking, travel and outdoor activities with her my husband and their daughter, who is a French International School student.