Ms. Margaret Dougherty

dougherty@frenchschoolphila.org
School(s): Primary School
Department(s): American Faculty
Title(s): Enseignante en anglais en CP et CE1

Étant à l’École Française Internationale depuis l’an 2000, Margaret Dougherty est enseignante en anglais au CP et CE1. Elle possède un diplôme d’éducation élémentaire avec une spécialisation en lecture de l’Université de Kutztown en Pennsylvanie. Elle enseigne de nombreuses matières comme la lecture, les mathématiques, l’expression écrite et la découverte du monde aux élèves de CP et CE1.

Mme Dougherty s’intéresse de près à l’influence des sources extérieures sur les enfants et elle a été bénévole pour la Campaign for a Commercial-Free Childhood qui surveille l’influence de la publicité sur les enfants et qui est une ressource pour les parents souhaitant limiter l’impact des pratiques publicitaires sur les enfants.

Quand nous lui demandons de citer les avantages de l’éducation bilingue sur les enfants, Mme Dougherty estime qu’ils grandissent avec de sérieux atouts sociaux et intellectuels. Elle apprécie de voir combien ses élèves d’épanouissent dans leurs apprentissages. Elle pense aussi que les nouvelles familles devraient tirer parti de tous les événements proposés par la communauté de l’École Française Internationale.

Ms. Margaret Dougherty

dougherty@frenchschoolphila.org
School(s): Primary School
Department(s): American Faculty
Title(s): First and Second Grade Teacher

With the French International School since 2000, Margaret Dougherty is a first and second grade English teacher. She graduated with a degree in elementary education and reading from Kutztown University and currently teaches multiple subjects which include reading, math, writing and social studies to the first grade and second grade classes.

Ms. Dougherty feels strongly about how children are influenced by outside sources and has volunteered with the Campaign for a Commercial-Free Childhood which monitors how marketing affects children and is a resource for parents trying to limit exploitive child-marketing practices.

When asked what the benefits are from a bilingual education, Ms. Dougherty said she believed that it brings many cognitive and social advantages to the lives of children and she loves the opportunity to watch her students become engaged in their learning. She also feels new families should take advantage of the events available that will help them feel part of the French International School family.